84 Days to Go: #ModiVsWho

Posted by

On Saturday 19th January, there was a “United India Rally” of 23 opposition parties, organised by West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. There was only one purpose of the rally – “Modi Hatao” or “BJP Hatao“.

Let us see who is endorsing whom for becoming the next Prime Minister of India in ~113 days:

  • Mamata Banerjee is endorsing herself.
  • Everyone in Congress is (obviously) endorsing Rahul Gandhi.
  • Former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda is also endorsing Rahul Gandhi.
  • However, his son – and Karnataka Chief Minister – HD Kumaraswamy is (instead) endorsing Mamata Banerjee, as he is supposedly unhappy with his alliance party Congress in the Karnataka state government.
  • Telangana Chief Minister KCR, whose party TRS cannot get more than 17 seats (the total seats of Telangana in the Lok Sabha) is endorsing himself.
  • Supposedly, YSRCP chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, is also endorsing KCR.
  • Mayawati is endorsing herself.
  • Akhilesh Yadav – at least for now – seems like he is endorsing Mayawati, although what’s to say he will not want the post for himself should his Samajwadi Party win even one more seat than Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party in the 2019 elections.
  • BJP-rebel Yashwant Sinha – who has been upset with PM Modi for 57 months as he was not given a ministerial berth – has said he wants to be the PM, though no one seems to be endorsing him.
  • Another BJP-rebel, though he is still in the party, Shatrughan Sinha – will endorse “Anyone But Modi“, though he also praised Mamata Banerjee.
  • MK Stalin of Tamil Nadu’s TDP party initially supported Rahul Gandhi, but has since said that the PM will be decided after the elections.
  • Farooq Abdullah and Omar Abdullah are also supporting “Anyone But Modi“.
  • Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandra Babu Naidu, who was earlier trying to cobble up a Gathbandhan led by himself, after realising he will have no chance, has also turned to support “Anyone But Modi“.
  • Other so-called leaders who were onstage in the United India Rally – Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal and Gujarat agitation leader Hardik Patel – both (for now) also support “Anyone But Modi“.

So who will become PM in ~113 days. The front-leader is “Anyone But Modi“. But I have a different take. Read my popular book “1914 NaMo or MoNa” to see who is most likely to become PM – based on numbers, not rhetoric. You can also buy it HERE or HERE.

पुस्तक हिंदी संस्करण में भी उपलब्ध है। यहां हिंदी संस्करण प्राप्त करें ।



Leave a Reply